Fri Jul 01, 2022 10:16 pm
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us

Please Note: The HPCC Systems forums are moving to Stack Overflow. We invite you to post your questions on Stack Overflow utilizing the tag hpcc-ecl (https://stackoverflow.com/search?tab=newest&q=hpcc-ecl). This legacy forum will be active and monitored during our transition to Stack Overflow but will become read only beginning September 1, 2022.



HSQL - Unable to locate ECL Client Tools

Questions around writing code and queries

Thu Feb 03, 2022 7:55 pm Change Time Zone

Hi,
How are you?
I'm giving HSQL a try (https://github.com/hpcc-systems/HSQL), as I found it very interesting, and the whole installation in VSCode went fine (except that I already had the clienttools installed so I skipped this step)
Now when I want to run the ecl from the SimpleTest.ecl I get "Unable to locate ECL Client Tools."
Where should I configure the extension to be able to find the already installed client tools?
Thank you!!!
rfernandez2007
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:40 pm

Tue Feb 08, 2022 4:15 pm Change Time Zone

Hi Ricardo,

The problem you describe does not sound like it is related to HSQL. VS Code should be invoking the ECL extension for any .ecl file, no matter how it is created. And it sounds like that is indeed happening, based on the error message of not finding the client tools.

A few questions:

* What operating system are you working with?
* What version of the client tools did you install?
* Did you install the client tools in a location other than the one suggested by the installer?

We had a recent issue relating to that last question, for Windows systems (https://track.hpccsystems.com/browse/HPCC-26845). This may be related to your environment.

DSC
DSC
Community Advisory Board Member
Community Advisory Board Member
 
Posts: 571
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:45 pm

Tue Feb 08, 2022 5:05 pm Change Time Zone

Hi DSC,
Thank you very much for your answer.
To make it simple, I reinstalled everything without modifying a thing in the defaults. Especially the default path for the clienttools.
And, it worked as expected. So, thank you very much!!!

One friendly suggestion, I lost many hours trying to make this work, unaware of this pre-existing issue. So to prevent this from happening to other people I kindly suggest someone update the documentation for HSQL, making this limitation clear, and required for the installation to work properly

To answer your other questions>
Windows 10
hpccsystems-eclide-community_8.4.12-1Windows-i386

Warm regards!
Ricardo
rfernandez2007
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:40 pm


Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron