Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:16 am
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us

Iterating Data Analysis

Topics specific to using ECL from a Data Analyst standpoint

Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:02 pm Change Time Zone

Greetings, I am relatively new to this board so I am not sure I am posting in the correct forum. However I have a large data set of a population that I need to compute the hazard rate for a fixed amount of time, and I need to output the survival rate as a function of time so I can plot it and compare to other populations.

Now I am very new to programming in ECL so all advice is welcome, but the algorithm I need to use boils down to:

Hazard_Rate(t) = COUNT($.pop(time = t))/COUNT($.pop(time >= t)

I need to be able to assign a range 1:60 to t and output the results to the user.

Thanks in advance for the help.
pyrannis

Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:17 pm Change Time Zone

Essentially, what you need to do is to use a NORMALIZE,which gives you the ability to iterate a finite amount. Here's an inline example:

Code: Select all
baseRec := RECORD
   INTEGER1 Time;
   INTEGER  Casualty;
END;

BaseFile := DATASET([{1,10},{2,30},{3,50},{4,55}],baseRec);

OutRec    := RECORD
   INTEGER1 Time;
   REAL4    Hazard_Rate;
END;                        

OutRec DoHazards(BaseFile Le,INTEGER t) := TRANSFORM
SELF.Time := Le.time;
SELF.Hazard_Rate := COUNT(BaseFile(Le.time = t))/COUNT(BaseFile(Le.time >= t));
END;

//I need to be able to assign a range 1:60
//to t and output the results to the user.

normout := NORMALIZE(BaseFile,60,DoHazards(LEFT,COUNTER));
normout;

Regards,

Bob
bforeman
Community Advisory Board Member

Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:31 pm Change Time Zone

Thanks for the quick reply bforman,

However, I believe your code performs the hazard calculation on each record 60 times, I need to perform that calculation once at each time step on every record in my data set since all I have is a list of patient data and the time that the they visited the doctor.