Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:11 pm
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us

How Roxie channels affect data/partition distribution?

Topics related to recommendations or questions on the design for HPCC Systems clusters

Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:59 am Change Time Zone

Hi,

I am a PhD student, and we are working on adding elasticity to Roxie. I am trying to understand how Roxie manage data. I setup a 4-node Thor cluster (not including the Thor master) and a 4-node Roxie cluster. To understand How Roxie works, I tried different channel mode (slaveConfig in environment.xml), including cyclic, overloaded and simple. I also tried different combinations of the following parameters.

Configurations
Cyclic mode: numDataCopies=[1, 2, 4]
Overload mode: channelsPerNode=[1, 2, 4]
Simple mode: numDataCopies[1, 2, 4]

Roxie Application
Six Degree from the official tutorial

Experiment Steps
1. Setup Roxie against one configuration combination from above
2. Upload data to landing zone
3. Spray data to Thor (observed two replicas per data partition) - see Figure 1
4. Publish the query to Roxie (observed only one replica per index partition, but metadata file is replicated to all Roxie nodes) - see Figure 2
5. Repeat the same experiment with remaining configurations

Questions
1. Does the channel mode (as described in Figure 3) affect how Roxie stores data? Our results do not indicate this relationship.
2. How a Roxie server process picks the slave process to run the Roxie query? It seems partition layout is fixed (as shown in Figure 2). The multicast channel does not help in this case?
3. Are the index files loaded to memory already? Does this mean I look the wrong place in my experiments?
4. Is it possible to know which slave nodes handle a certain query? Is the statistics (taken from the output of a query) used for the server or slave process?

<Statistic c="roxie"
count="1"
creator="myroxie@10.25.11.102"
desc="Graph graph1"
kind="TimeElapsed"
s="graph"
scope="graph1"
ts="1457679003666831"