Fri Jan 28, 2022 9:56 pm
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us


Shortcut keys stop working in ECL IDE

Topics specific to the use of the ECL IDE

Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:01 am Change Time Zone

In ECL IDE, Version community_4.0.2-1...
In some cases, at some point, shortcut keys (like Ctrl-F, Ctrl-Enter, Ctrl-G) stop working - the editor accepts the literal value of the key and inserts it into the code.
On a just-fresh load of ECL IDE, even with "busy" workspaces, the shortcut keys seem to work fine at first, but later drop off.
I'm wondering if this is related to a "heavy" environment - busy workspaces (lots of modules/BWR) or even several old workunits for a given module.
I have often switched to a new tab/window, and the keys work fine. Switch back, and they're gone again.
Thanks.
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:29 am Change Time Zone

I have not seen a report like this before...

My first hunch (like yours) would have been to limit the number of open Workunits and Editor windows, but it sounds like that didn't help - I would also suggest trying to increase the "auto save" duration to a few minutes?
gsmith
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:59 pm Change Time Zone

I have the same issue and it is very annoying. I have found that as soon as I go into the graph of my workunit, that is when the shortcuts will stop working, but only for the current builder window. Other builders still allow me to use the shortcuts. I haven't figured out how to get them to work again, other than restarting.
perekl
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:18 pm

Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:16 pm Change Time Zone

Thanks for the additional information. I have opened a Jira ticket: https://track.hpccsystems.com/browse/IDE-340 and I will see if I can reproduce.
gsmith
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:31 pm Change Time Zone

Same issue. When I try to use ctrl-q, a highlighted DC1 appears.
Leofei
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:13 pm

Tue May 27, 2014 7:05 am Change Time Zone

gsmith
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Thu May 29, 2014 8:58 pm Change Time Zone

Excellent, thanks!
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:58 pm Change Time Zone

Do we know yet when this fix should appear in 5.x releases?
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:24 pm Change Time Zone

It was merged into candidate-4.2.6, so should be available in any build since then.
gsmith
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:30 pm Change Time Zone

Hmm... that's disappointing. I'm still seeing issues in 5.x versions.
I'm looking at Enterprise Edition - I assume that won't make a difference?
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Next

Return to ECL IDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest