Thu Aug 18, 2022 10:54 am
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us

Please Note: The HPCC Systems forums are moving to Stack Overflow. We invite you to post your questions on Stack Overflow utilizing the tag hpcc-ecl (https://stackoverflow.com/search?tab=newest&q=hpcc-ecl). This legacy forum will be active and monitored during our transition to Stack Overflow but will become read only beginning September 1, 2022.



Shortcut keys stop working in ECL IDE

Topics specific to the use of the ECL IDE

Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:01 am Change Time Zone

In ECL IDE, Version community_4.0.2-1...
In some cases, at some point, shortcut keys (like Ctrl-F, Ctrl-Enter, Ctrl-G) stop working - the editor accepts the literal value of the key and inserts it into the code.
On a just-fresh load of ECL IDE, even with "busy" workspaces, the shortcut keys seem to work fine at first, but later drop off.
I'm wondering if this is related to a "heavy" environment - busy workspaces (lots of modules/BWR) or even several old workunits for a given module.
I have often switched to a new tab/window, and the keys work fine. Switch back, and they're gone again.
Thanks.
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:29 am Change Time Zone

I have not seen a report like this before...

My first hunch (like yours) would have been to limit the number of open Workunits and Editor windows, but it sounds like that didn't help - I would also suggest trying to increase the "auto save" duration to a few minutes?
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:59 pm Change Time Zone

I have the same issue and it is very annoying. I have found that as soon as I go into the graph of my workunit, that is when the shortcuts will stop working, but only for the current builder window. Other builders still allow me to use the shortcuts. I haven't figured out how to get them to work again, other than restarting.
perekl
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:18 pm

Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:16 pm Change Time Zone

Thanks for the additional information. I have opened a Jira ticket: https://track.hpccsystems.com/browse/IDE-340 and I will see if I can reproduce.
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:31 pm Change Time Zone

Same issue. When I try to use ctrl-q, a highlighted DC1 appears.
Leofei
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:13 pm

Tue May 27, 2014 7:05 am Change Time Zone

gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Thu May 29, 2014 8:58 pm Change Time Zone

Excellent, thanks!
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:58 pm Change Time Zone

Do we know yet when this fix should appear in 5.x releases?
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:24 pm Change Time Zone

It was merged into candidate-4.2.6, so should be available in any build since then.
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:30 pm Change Time Zone

Hmm... that's disappointing. I'm still seeing issues in 5.x versions.
I'm looking at Enterprise Edition - I assume that won't make a difference?
jwilt
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:46 pm

Next

Return to ECL IDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron