Thu Aug 18, 2022 11:40 am
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us

Please Note: The HPCC Systems forums are moving to Stack Overflow. We invite you to post your questions on Stack Overflow utilizing the tag hpcc-ecl (https://stackoverflow.com/search?tab=newest&q=hpcc-ecl). This legacy forum will be active and monitored during our transition to Stack Overflow but will become read only beginning September 1, 2022.



ECL IDE not showing up as a UI but loading as a process

Topics specific to the use of the ECL IDE

Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:45 pm Change Time Zone

Hi

I installed the ECL IDE and it just runs as a process (when I view the task manager), but the UI never shows up.

I have tried to install it on other pcs and it works fine.
I have also tried uninstall, reboot, installed again… every combination I could think of, but nothing is working.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Mohan
mohan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:35 pm

Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:03 pm Change Time Zone

Mohan, if the ECL IDE works on other machines, what is different?
How do the operating systems differ? Are your security rights the same on both machines? When you installed the ECL IDE did you simply accept defaults, or change any paths? Did you try to Run as Administrator, or in Compatibility Mode?

Forwarded to the ECL IDE developer for additional comment.

Have to admit, my colleagues I have asked have never seen this happen.

Regards,

Bob
bforeman
Community Advisory Board Member
Community Advisory Board Member
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:13 pm

Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:34 pm Change Time Zone

Are you running Windows 7 and have you installed IE 10 Beta (or RC)?
Does uninstalling IE 10 fix the issue?
Does installing IE 10 Gold (released today) fix the issue?

If none of the above are applicable try:
Open regedit and delete (or rename) the following key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HPCC Systems:
a. Press Win+R (opens run window)
b. Enter “regedit” and press OK
c. Navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HPCC Systems
d. Right click on the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\HPCC Systems and either delete or rename it.
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:35 pm Change Time Zone

Hi

I did have ie 10 pre-release installed. I uninstalled it, but it is still not working.
I tried with the latest ie as well and it didn't work.
I did not have any entry in the registry editor. So I guess that part is fine.

Any other thoughts? :)

Mohan
mohan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:35 pm

Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:10 am Change Time Zone

I think it is related to the IE10 pre-release, but now it has been officially released I will need to investigate further ASAP.

Can you uninstall IE10, reboot the machine and then reinstall the IDE and see if that works while I investigate more?

Issue Report: https://track.hpccsystems.com/browse/IDE-217

Update: A fix has been issued and pulled into upstream, will be included in next official release.
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:02 pm Change Time Zone

Hi

I did try uninstalling IE10 completely and then rebooting and reinstalling ECL IDE. It still doesn't work.

I will wait till the next fix is out. Hopefully everything should work then :)

Thanks
Mohan
mohan
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:35 pm

Fri Mar 22, 2013 2:51 pm Change Time Zone

I had the same problem few days ago. Have you any information about the next release?

Thanks for your reply
hungifi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:17 pm

Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:46 pm Change Time Zone

This was fixed in the 3.10.4 release.

FYI - It was due to a change that IE10 introduced in wininet.dll
gsmith
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:40 am

Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:55 pm Change Time Zone

That fixed, thanks
hungifi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:17 pm


Return to ECL IDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest