Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:42 pm
Login Register Lost Password? Contact Us


option export dependencies

Comments and questions related to the Enterprise Control Language

Mon Apr 27, 2020 10:52 am Change Time Zone

Hi There,

I have just come across this blog : https://hpccsystems.com/blog/definition-dependencies

By Gavin Halliday and I am trying to enable the “export dependencies” option for one of my work units so I can track dependencies.

I have added :

#Option('exportDependencies',true);

To my work unit, however when I submit the job, I do not see an extra XML in the helper’s tab as described.

Can you let me know where I have gone wrong?

I would also like to add this as a default for all work units, can you let me know how I do this, is it in the environment.xml or somewhere in the ECL server?

The blog goes on to say :

This information gives us the option to possibly add dependency graphs, and searches for all workunits that use a particular attribute to future versions of EclWatch.

Do you know if this is still planned for a future version of ECL Watch?

Thanks in advance

Antony
amillar
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:32 am

Mon Apr 27, 2020 1:02 pm Change Time Zone

I think using a #option is too late for enabling the details (because the information is gathered as the query is parsed). You need to submit the workunit with the option set. E.g.

ecl run myquery.ecl -fexportDependencies

or set the option in the eclide debug settings.
ghalliday
Community Advisory Board Member
Community Advisory Board Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 9:48 am

Mon Apr 27, 2020 2:50 pm Change Time Zone

Hi there,

thanks for the quick reply, one more quick query,

when you say "or set the option in the eclide debug settings."

do you mean within ECL Ide - Preferences - Compiler - WU Arguments

and if so do you just enter -f exportDependencies

I am asking for our dev team as I just setup the clusters for their use and don't really use the ECL IDE.

Is this documented anywhere so I can read up on it?

Thanks in advance

Antony
amillar
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:32 am

Tue Apr 28, 2020 1:37 pm Change Time Zone

I don't really use ECL IDE either. I think you probably could set it that way. I was meaning to click the debug button on the builder window and then there is an option to add debug options. That is more of a pain because you need to set it for each query.

If you want it set on all workunits, then you could configure it on the servers by add it as an option in the eclccserver settings - then it would automatically be applied to all workunits.

exportDependencies with a value of 1
ghalliday
Community Advisory Board Member
Community Advisory Board Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 9:48 am


Return to ECL

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron